06 December 2016

#YAXmasTour2016 - Cora's Last-Minute Christmas Book Guide

Cora's Last-Minute Christmas Book Guide

Sometimes you remember, pretty last minute, that you forgot to get someone a gift... So thank goodness the bookshop is open on Christmas Eve! Here's a quick - last minute - gift guide to get you sorted.

Best for Wee Kids

I don't think you can get any funnier than this when it comes to Christmas books for kids, it's lots of fun and will have the big kids laughing too. Excellent illustration and lyrical writing make this perfect for bed time.

Best for Bigger Kids

Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild
This is a classic with a strong, girl-power core. It gives a good lesson in humility and what really matters in life.

Best for Young Teens

Mistletoe and Murder by Robin Stevens
Even if they've never read Wells & Wong before, they'll be sucked right into the mystery, trying to work out whodunnit.

Best for Older Teens

This a a very sweet anthology, filled with festive cheer and a good dose of the Warm Fuzzies. There's something for everyone in this collection.

Best for Reluctant Readers

The mix of poetry and prose, and the different writing styles offered, makes this perfect for reluctant readers. Well, perfect for everyone.

Best for the Romantic

Sleigh Bells in the Snow by Sarah Morgan
I don't think you can get any more romantic than Snow Crystal at Christmas, and this start to the O'Neil Brother series is the perfect festive treat.

Best for the Bitter Cynic

Dying For Christmas by Tammy Cohen
This book is perfect for those who just don't want to feel the warm fuzzies. This book messes with your head, with a fantastically unreliable narrator.

Best for Any Age

V&A: The Twelve Days of Christmas by William Morris, Liz Catchpole
This book is absolutely beautiful! Mixing stunning historical works from William Morris with Liz Catchpole's sympathetic illustrations, this books makes the perfect gift for anyone.

05 December 2016

Fifth Day of Christmas

On the fifth day of Christmas, Cora gave to me...
🎄Book and a Brew Limited Edition Christmas Box🎄
Book and a Brew was the first subscription box I ever got, and it is absolutely the best value for money. It must be coming up two years now that I have been getting it. So I can't wait for one of you lucky people to get this limited edition Christmas box, complete with a selection of festive books and some delicious tea, all in time for Christmas!

This giveaway is UK Mainland only.

04 December 2016

Fourth Day of Christmas

On the fourth day of Christmas, Cora gave to me...

🎄Signed copy of Mistletoe and Murder by Robin Stevens🎄
Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are spending the Christmas hols in snowy Cambridge. Hazel has high hopes of its beautiful spires, cosy libraries and inviting tea-rooms - but there is danger lurking in the dark stairwells of ancient Maudlin College.

Two days before Christmas, there is a terrible accident. At least, it appears to be an accident - until the Detective Society look a little closer, and realise a murder has taken place. Faced with several irritating grown-ups and fierce competition from a rival agency, they must use all their cunning and courage to find the killer (in time for Christmas Day, of course).

This giveaway is UK/Ireland only.

03 December 2016

Third Day of Christmas

On the third day of Christmas, Cora gave to me...

🎄Signed copy of ...And A Happy New Year? by Holly Bourne🎄
This was a surprise pick up at YA Shot - when I'd been helping out the night before it wasn't on the book stand, but in the morning there is was - and I'm pretty sure that I ran faster than ever before making from my workshop to her signing. And I don't run. But it was worth it!

Evie, Amber and Lottie are having a new year party to remember.
For the first time since leaving college, all three girls are back together. It's time for fun and flirting, snogs and shots.
(And not tears or tantrums or terrible secrets)
Because everything's going great for these girls - Spinster Club for ever! Right?

This giveaway is UK/Ireland only.

02 December 2016

Second Day of Christmas

On the second day of Christmas, Cora gave to me...


🎄Signed copy of The Look by Sophia Bennett🎄

When  I was at YA Shot I picked up a second copy of one of my favourite Sophia Bennett books and she very kindly signed it for me. The Look is perfect for fans of Geek Girls and Fashionista.

Ted doesn't think of herself as glamorous. But her gorgeous sister Ava is.
So when it's Ted who spotted by a model agency, at the same time that Ava is diagnosed with cancer, things have clearly gone very wrong. Ted isn't interested in modelling but Ava wants her to give it a try.
Just how far will Ted go to please her sister? And what sacrifices will she have to make?

This giveaway is UK/Ireland only.

01 December 2016

First Day of Christmas

On the first day of Christmas, Cora gave to me...

🎄William & Joseph Scent Library Melt Edition🎄

The scent library is a monthly box of bookish scented surprises. In this festive themed box there are eight individual wax melts, with scents inspired by books from the likes of Charles Dickens, CS Lewis and Dr Seuss.

Get 10% off your first order by following this link.

This giveaway is mainland UK only.

29 November 2016

Top Ten Tuesday #74

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and is a chance for everyone to get to know fellow bloggers and share lists. I love lists. Every week is a different list.

This week is Top Ten Festive Reads for December.

OK, so this week was supposed to be a top ten holiday gift guide, but to be honest that'd give away my whole Secret Santa shopping list (I'm signed up to about six). So I changed it to something a lot closer to my heart, something that I'm SO looking forward to. Every December, I drop what I was reading before and throw myself into season reading. Anything festive or with even the merest hint of winter or Christmas and I'm on it.

I have a 12 Days of Christmas giveaway starting on Thursday, twelve whole days of giveaways on my blog, Twitter and Instagram, so check them out
Top Five from Previous Years
  1. Sleigh Bells in the Snow by Sarah Morgan
  2. All I Want for Christmas by Esme Taylor
  3. Calling Mrs Christmas by Carole Matthews
  4. Christmas is Cancelled by Aurelia Rowl
  5. A Christmas to Remember by Katie Flynn
Top Five Most Anticipated