18 September 2015

Book Beginnings #6

For Book Beginnings, Rose City Reader invites us to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

I am currently reading Debutantes by Cora Harrison.
The girl's face was perfectly framed by the russet beech leaves. The early spring sunlight lit creamy-whit skin, a Grecian nose, violet-blue eyes fringed with long black lashes, and a curtain of shimmering black hair.

I am starting this as I type, so this is more about my expectations of what's to come rather than my experience so far. That said, the prologue is pretty intriguing and has definitely sparked my interest. This book is touted as perfect for fans of Downton, and I'm definitely a fan. I know the new series starts on Sunday, but I still need something to fill that tiny gap.
 
When it comes to historical fiction it can be very hit and miss. I love Elizabeth Chadwick and Elizabeth Moss/Victoria Lamb, but I can't stand Philippa Gregory. I am rather nit-picky and love the little details, and I love history, so it needs to be accurate.

9 comments:

  1. First, I freaked when you said the new season of Downton starts this week! Wasn't thinking strait. I am very picky w my HF also. I don't like when Gregory.adds things like magic. It makes a good story, but people who don't know enough of the history think it's all real sometimes.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lovely choice, Cora. I'm going to see what books are available from Ms. Harrison here in the U.S., since we have to wait until January for the new season of DA.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you're looking for something to fill the gap I read the Somerton books by Leila Rasheed earlier this year, perfect!

      Delete
  3. I agree with HF being hit and miss. Not sure this is for me, but I hope you enjoy reading it.
    sherry @ fundinmental Friday Memes

    ReplyDelete
  4. I can't wait until Downton comes back, but unfortunately I have a little bit more of a wait in the U.S... According to the Goodreads description, the main characters are named Violet, Daisy, Rose, and Poppy. I've thought about picking this up to bridge the gap too, but with names like that I keep thinking of the Daisy, Rose, and Violet from Keeping Up Appearances - I'd just be waiting for a Hyacinth to appear! :)

    Check out my Friday 56 (With Book Beginnings).

    ReplyDelete
  5. I don't read a lot of historical fiction anymore, but I love the sound of this one. Thanks for sharing...and here's mine: “HOUSE OF GLASS”

    ReplyDelete
  6. This sounds interesting! Some of my absolute favorite books are historical fiction but I've been very underwhelmed by quite a number as well. I agree that it needs to be accurate but it also doesn't need to get so caught up in details that the plot gets lost or the characters don't end up getting developed. It's quite a balance I think.

    ReplyDelete
  7. This does sound interesting! I have yet to start watching Downton...my sister is a huge fan though and I have it selected on Netflix...just haven't had the time but I'm going to add this book to my list to check out ...thanks for sharing! Here's my Book Beginnings and Friday 56

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I didn't start watching it until after series 2 had finished, so glad I did!

      Delete

Thank you so much for your comment.

If you've left a link back to your own blog, expect a visit from me very soon - I spend pretty much all day reading blogs and taking part in bookish discussions!