10 May 2016

Review: Unrivalled by Alyson Noël

EVERYONE wants to be someone.

Layla Harrison wants to be a reporter.
Aster Amirpour wants to be an actress.
Tommy Phillips wants to be a guitar hero.
But Madison Brooks took destiny and made it her own a long time ago.

She’s Hollywood’s hottest starlet, and the things she did to become the name on everyone’s lips are merely a stain on the pavement, ground beneath her Louboutin heel.

That is, until Layla, Aster, and Tommy find themselves with a VIP invite to the world of Los Angeles’s nightlife and are lured into a competition. The prize, or rather the target? Madison Brooks.

Just as their hopes begin to gleam like stars through the California smog, Madison Brooks goes missing... And all of their hopes are blacked out in the haze of their lies.


Source: Review Consideration

5 Words: Fame, money, family, relationships, mystery.

So, I read this in one sitting. I picked it up and that was me. Lost. Gone.

And that hasn't happened in a while.

I think this book was exactly what I needed. It's fun and flirty and full of Pretty Young Things and just a little bit trashy.

The thing I loved the most about this book was the blend of Young Hollywood and mystery. Not all of the characters were Poor Little Rich Folk, there was a refreshing blend of circumstances and a hefty dose of cynicism. The characters all stood out with unique voices, and I could always tell which was narrating at any given time, but having so many narratives did get a little confusing at times.

I liked reading the multiple perspectives, how different people saw and reacted to different things and how they then used it - mostly to their own advantage. Especially Layla. I also loved how cunning and shrewd Madison was.

One thing that I didn't like was the ending - it was so abrupt. The story just stopped. It felt like nothing was really resolved, like there had been a few pages left out at the end.

This book is perfect for fans of Sara Shepard, Cecily von Ziegesar and Rebecca Serle.

1 comment:

  1. I probably wouldn't have picked this up on my own, but I'm feeling a little intrigued. Being a terrible cynic myself, it sounds like something I might enjoy.

    Also, I nominated you for the liebster award (https://kittypann.wordpress.com/2016/05/15/the-liebster-award/). No obligation to accept, but obviously it only made sense to let you know!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for your comment.

If you've left a link back to your own blog, expect a visit from me very soon - I spend pretty much all day reading blogs and taking part in bookish discussions!