08 March 2018

Guest Post: Izzy O'Neill's iPod

If you haven't already read The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven then you need to rush out and buy it now. It really is excellent. Pretty much everyone I know who has read it (myself included) read it in a short, feverish sitting. It is one of those books you can't put down.

Music features a fair bit in the book, and while I'm a little sad that Cute Is What We Aim For didn't make the cut, here are the top tracks on Izzy O'Neill's iPod as provided by the author herself! Including a handy Spotify playlist so you can listen along. It's a perfect companion to the book.

The Tracklist

I love It
Icona Pop, Charlie XCX

I Don't Care
Cheryl

Sit Still, Look Pretty
Daya

Borderline
Tove Stryke

Foundations
Kate Nash

Remember When
Heathers

Alive
Sia

Dog Days Are Over
Florence + The Machine

Liability
Lorde






The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven

Izzy O'Neill here! Impoverished orphan, aspiring comedian and Slut Extraordinaire, if the gossip sites are anything to go by...

Izzy never expected to be eighteen and internationally reviled. But when explicit photos involving her, a politician's son and a garden bench are published online, the trolls set out to take her apart. Armed with best friend Ajita and a metric ton of nachos, she tries to laugh it off - but as the daily slut-shaming intensifies, she soon learns the way the world treats teenage girls is not okay. It's the Exact Opposite of Okay. 

Bitingly funny and shockingly relevant, The Exact Opposite of Okay is a bold, brave and necessary read. For readers of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, Doing It by Hannah Witton and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo.

A hilarious, groundbreaking young adult novel for anyone who's ever called themselves a feminist... And anyone who hasn't. For fans of Louise O'Neill, Holly Bourne and Amy Schumer. 

Waterstones


Do you listen to music when you read?



5 comments:

  1. This is absolutely the perfect playlist for this book. I'm feeling the urge to read it again whilst listening to this.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I keep blasting it, it's my current "getting ready" playlist.

      Delete
  2. I adore Sia and Florence + The Machine, so I'm excited to finally dive into this book. Music I prefer to listen to when I read is always soundtracks.

    acupofwonderland.wordpress.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm gonna have to read this book asap! Thanks for sharing x

    I'm at https://www.lupehtrejo.wordpress.com x

    ReplyDelete
  4. These songs are amazing! Also I really need to go and pick up this book, everybody seems to be talking about it! xoxox

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for your comment.

If you've left a link back to your own blog, expect a visit from me very soon - I spend pretty much all day reading blogs and taking part in bookish discussions!