My posts may contain Amazon Affiliate links, if you buy something through these links it doesn't cost you anything, but I may make a small commission which helps to keep this site up and running.

08 January 2020

Book Review: A Queen in Hiding by Sarah Kozloff *AD Gifted

Tor sent me a review copy of  A Queen in Hiding by Sarah Kozloff. 

I was first taken in by this book's gorgeous cover, then capture by its first lines. A Queen in Hiding by Sarah Kozloff is a wonderful start to an epic high fantasy series that I enjoyed immensely, with lyrical writing and astonishing world building. And a pretty map.


A Queen in Hiding by Sarah Kozloff coverAdd to Goodreads button
Debut author Sarah Kozloff offers a breathtaking and cinematic epic fantasy of a ruler coming of age in A Queen in Hiding first in the quartet of The Nine Realms series.

Four books. Four months. Nine Realms.

Readers will be able to binge this amazing fantasy series with beautiful interlocking art across the spines of all four books.

Orphaned, exiled and hunted, Cerulia, Princess of Weirandale, must master the magic that is her birthright, become a ruthless guerilla fighter, and transform into the queen she is destined to be.

But to do it she must win the favor of the spirits who play in mortal affairs, assemble an unlikely group of rebels, and wrest the throne from a corrupt aristocracy whose rot has spread throughout her kingdom.


Source: Review Copy

5 Word Review: Family, power, politics, magic, justice.


Before I picked this book up, I didn't read the blurb. I just went for it. And I freaking loved it. A Queen in Hiding is full of surprises and it ticked all of the right boxes for me.

I love nothing more than starting the year with a five star read, and that's exactly what A Queen in Hiding by Sarah Kozloff. I loved the quiet power of the Cressa and Cerulia, I loved the political intrigue, I loved the fast pace. I really enjoyed the multiple narrative perspectives, and that we got to see through the eyes of the bad guys too.

This story is pretty vast, with a lot of sub plots. It is definitely high fantasy and with a lot of scope, and I am very excited to see where the next three books take us.

I think that my favourite arc was that of Cressa. I loved her quiet power, her silent wrath, her underestimated braverly. She wasn't overtly powerful, and everyone thought her weak because of it, and I loved her character growth.

Cerulia is a bit of a mixed character for me. She is the main focus, and I found it hard to remember at times how young she is. I thought her character development very natural and well considered. The change in environment and circumstances had an effect on her that I didn't even realise until the end and I thought it was very clever. She's displaced at a young age, naive, and dumbing herself down to hide her identity, and that takes its toll. I think some readers might think her stupid, but I saw her as a product of what happened. She has so much potential and I'm excited to see it explored.

I found myself referring a lot to the map in the front of the book so remind myself of the breadth of events. This is not a small world, and so much of it is explored in the pages.

I have already pre-ordered The Queen of Raiders for next month!

A Queen in Hiding has been touted as perfect for fans of Naomi Novik, Victoria Aveyard, Kendare Blake, Sarah J Mass and Kristin Cashore. And you know what? Yes.

Favourite Quote

News of distant places was accepted on par with a thunderstorm seen off in the distance - a far-off disturbance that would blow over before it touched them.

7 comments:

  1. I haven’t heard of this book, or the author before. It sounds like an interesting read. You have shared a great review! Thank you for sharing xx

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love the idea that the series releases one after the other so quickly, I can imagine it would be very easy to fully emerge yourself in the books over the next four months. This sounds like an interesting story with a intriguing group of characters!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't heard of this book before but it sounds interesting!

    Xoxo
    Shirley | shirleycuypers.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds like a good read. I love the idea of them all being released so soon so you can binge read.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Fast paced high fantasy is definitely my jam! I never get on with high fantasy that takes chapters and chapters to get into the plot.

    ReplyDelete
  6. A series released in the space of a few months, this is excellent!

    ReplyDelete
  7. so glad you enjoyed it so much, definitely moving it up my tbr now!!

    ReplyDelete

Please leave a link to your own blog when you comment, I'd love to visit yours!

Thank you so much for your comment!