07 January 2018

Blog Tour: Games With The Dead by James Nally

Irish runaway. Insomniac. Functioning alcoholic.

Life is about to get complicated for DC Donal Lynch.

When a young woman is kidnapped, Donal is brought in to deliver the ransom money. But the tightly-planned drop off goes wrong, Julie Draper is discovered dead, and Donal finds his job on the line – a scapegoat for the officers in charge.

But when Donal is delivered a cryptic message in the night, he learns that Julie was killed long before the botched rescue mission. As he digs further into the murder in a bid to clear his own name, dark revelations make one thing certain: the police are chasing the wrong man, and the killer has far more blood on his hands than they could even imagine.


Source: Blog Tour | Review Consideration

5 Words: Crime, murder, family, betrayal, mystery.

From the first lines, I was hooked.

I loved the pace, and the writing was quite snappy. I liked the wry observations of Donal's surroundings, the added humour that stopped the story being too dark. The plot was more complicated than I had anticipated, and I really had to think about this one.

I liked the touch of the unnatural, Donal's visions, and how they weren't straight forward so he had to work them out. And I love that he was affected by them, that his weird and graphic visions were an ingrained part of his character.

Although this is the third book in the series, I found it very easy to read as a standalone. The lack of my having read the previous books didn't detract from my reading experience, but I will definitely read more. And as the cover says, perfect for fans of James Oswald.

1 comment:

  1. Oh I read this and I was hooked already this will be going on my book list, so thanks for sharing 😊.

    ReplyDelete

Please leave a link to your own blog when you comment, I'd love to visit yours!

Thank you so much for your comment!