01 March 2018

Book Review: The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven

The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven is a book to shout about. It's an Important Book (I hate that phrase!) and a shouty take down of the patriarchy. An inter-sectional feminist gem.

Izzy O'Neill here! Impoverished orphan, aspiring comedian and Slut Extraordinaire, if the gossip sites are anything to go by...

Izzy never expected to be eighteen and internationally reviled. But when explicit photos involving her, a politician's son and a garden bench are published online, the trolls set out to take her apart. Armed with best friend Ajita and a metric ton of nachos, she tries to laugh it off - but as the daily slut-shaming intensifies, she soon learns the way the world treats teenage girls is not okay. It's the Exact Opposite of Okay. 

Bitingly funny and shockingly relevant, The Exact Opposite of Okay is a bold, brave and necessary read. For readers of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, Doing It by Hannah Witton and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo.

A hilarious, groundbreaking young adult novel for anyone who's ever called themselves a feminist... And anyone who hasn't. For fans of Louise O'Neill, Holly Bourne and Amy Schumer. 


Source: NetGalley Request

5 Words: Friendship, sex, feminism, blame, attraction.

There are not enough stars in the world for this wonderful book.

Before reading, I was pretty excited for this book. I'd caught my first glimpse at YALC, failed in my endeavours begging for a copy, then managed to get it on NetGalley.

As I was reading, I felt all sorts of emotions. I subjected Steph to a lot of them because she'd already read it. This is a book to make you angry, but it is also gloriously written.

After reading, I sat and stared at a blank wall for a while, trying to get my thoughts into order. Still working on that, really.

I loved everything about this book. I loved the scathing take down of the friendzone, the heartbreaking reality of how girls and boys are treated differently by society, the way it rips into everything that is wrong with lad culture and slut-shaming. It is truly excellent. This book handles the most delicate of topics in the most earnest and sensitive way. It explores the power of words, the stigma behind then.

The writing is peppered with pop culture references. I was immediately grounded in the world, it felt all the more real and relevant.

I particularly loved the depictions of friendship. Izzy and Ajita are the best friends of reality. They know each other's secrets, and even when they fall out they both show that they still care about each other in a hundred little, subtle ways. And Danny. Well. WELL.

Izzy O'Neill is amazing.
What do I want to be now? Bold. Fierce. Honest. A fighter. A revolutionary. A bitch. Because the way the world treats teenage girls – as sluts, as objects, as bitches – is not okay. It’s the exact opposite of okay.

1 comment:

  1. I loved this book. I devoured it in one sitting yesterday. Izzy is perfect

    ReplyDelete

Please leave a link to your own blog when you comment, I'd love to visit yours!

Thank you so much for your comment!