03 January 2019

Book Review: The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge *AD Gifted

Hot Key Books sent me a review copy of The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge.

From the gorgeous cover to the mesmerising writing, The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge was an absolute delight to read. It's dark and twisting and chilling, and perfect for a thrill when it's cold outside.

The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge coverAdd to Goodreads button
Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of Coraline and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor - only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in...

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, The Twisted Tree is a ghost story that twists and turns - and never takes you quite where you'd expect.


Source: Review Copy

5 Word Review: Secrets, grief, family, mythology, acceptance.


Content warning: Grief, PTSD.

I had already read the first couple of chapters of this thanks to Readers First, and I was hooked from the start. But when I got further into the story it got very dark, very quickly. And I was blown away.

The Twisted Tree is dark and twisty and chilling and you will definitely need a blanket to hide under to keep yourself warm while you read. The writing is incredibly evocative, and I could see every scene play out as though I was watching it. I was blinded by the fog, by the swirling snow. I felt the elation of mucking around and throwing snow balls. But even thinking back to it now my fingers and toes are cold.

This book is honestly excellently written. I loved the style, I loved the imagery, I loved the Norse mythology woven in. I loved Martha and her insecurities, and I loved Stig and how mysterious he was. I didn't know who to trust and what was real or imagined, and I loved it. I really enjoyed how the setting, how being in such close quarters, accelerated the building relationship between Martha and Stig.

I would recommend this to anyone who loves Norse Mythology, a bit of a thrill, and beautiful writing. It was wonderful. The ebook is out now and the paperback is out on 10th January.

What's your favourite mythological inspired story?


7 comments:

  1. Great review. I know exactly what you mean about the atmosphere. It felt like a physcial chill. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm not that into thrillers but this one sounds interesting! Lovely review, Cora!😊

    Xoxo
    Shirley | https://shirleycuypers.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Weirdly this is the second review I've read for this in the last ten mins! And since it was on my radar anyway I'm raking that as a sign that it's a definite to-read! You make it sound so atmospheric, I love books which really transport you! Look forward to reading it!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love the cover! This sounds fascinating, it isn't my usual kind of book but your review has really intrigued me! I'm going to add it to my TBR!

    Hels xx
    www.thehelsproject.com

    ReplyDelete
  5. ^ Debjani @ https://debjanisthoughts.wordpress.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I picked this book up on Sunday purely because of your recommendation.

    ReplyDelete

Please leave a link to your own blog when you comment, I'd love to visit yours!

Thank you so much for your comment!