My posts may contain affiliate links, if you buy something through these links it doesn't cost you anything, but I may make a small commission which helps to keep this site up and running.
Furry-Paws.com: Your virtual dog could be the next champion!

24 March 2021

Book Review: Home on Folly Farm by Jane Lovering *AD - Gifted

I was provided with access to a free copy of Home on Folly Farm by Jane Lovering ahead of the blog tour, but as I'm a massive Jane Lovering fan I already had the book and the audiobook pre-ordered and so did not take up that offer.

If you haven't heard me fangirl about this author before then check out some of my previous posts about best authors and favourite books. Because I fully stan Jane Lovering. Home on Folly Farm was an instant hit for me, and an easy five stars.

Home on Folly Farm by Jane Lovering book cover

Escape the rat race by heading to the Yorkshire Moors in Jane Lovering’s funny, warm and magical new novel.

Needing an escape, Dora swapped city living for life as a shepherdess on her grandad’s Yorkshire farm. More than a decade later Dora is still there, now farming the fifty acres and caring for the one hundred rare sheep by herself. She never hears the call of the city, but instead relishes the peace and simplicity of life on the Moors.

When Dora’s glamorous but quarrelsome sister Cass, her teenage nephew Thor and his handsome tutor Nat, turn up for an unexpected and unreasonably long stay, life on the farm is thrown into chaos. Cass brings with her unwelcome memories from the past, and of someone who once stole Dora's heart. 

Dora takes refuge in the comforting routine of the farm, the sheep never allowing her too much time to dwell. But, as the seasons change, the snow starts to melt, and as lambs begin to fill the fields, Dora can’t keep hiding in the hills. Because even though she’s trying, Dora can’t run away from a love that never really let her go…

Let Jane Lovering whisk you away to the beauty and serenity of the Yorkshire Moors, far away from the noise of the city. Just right for fans of Emma Burstall, Holly Martin and Kate Forster.


Add to Goodreads button

Source: Purchase

5 Word Review: Farm, sheep, family, secrets, forgiveness.


Content warnings: Miscarriage, drug abuse.

The first lines of this book pack a bit of a punch - straight in there with the dry humour that I love from this author. We meet the main character Dora elbow-deep in a sheep while her polished sister Cass looks on in disgust, and honestly that sets the tone for the whole book. It was an excellent start and I was hooked straight away.

Dora and Cass clash. They couldn't be more different from each other, and I loved it. I have two sisters myself, and sometimes we can wind each other right up. I loved the messy relationships, the conflicts, the resentment, and the slow rebuilding after so much distance. I loved the exploration of sibling relationships, and the ending was beautiful and enlightening for the characters in that respect.

Thor is a spark of youthful energy, a stark contrast to the adults around him. It was great to see two sides of him - the twelve year old trying to make it as a Youtuber, and the twelve year old delighting in the novelties of farm life.

Then we have Nat, who harbours a pretty big secret. I loved the build of attraction between Dora and Nat, their secret shared history, the passion that sparked between them. I loved how Dora's defence was snark and the back-and-forth banter that ensued.

I loved the setting. The farm is that kind of romantic-idyllic that isn't really all that in real life. And I freaking loved it. The remoteness made the tension more tense, the things that could go wrong added an edge of anxiousness to the story, even as the beautiful scenery had me sighing. I love being up on the moors and dales and this book brought up such vivid imagery that I could almost forget it had been over a year since I last saw such a vast sky.

This story is an absolute joy. There's something about Jane Lovering's writing that soothes your soul (yea, even with Vampire State of Mind) and makes you feel whole and content at the end. Home on Folly Far was no exception and I'm only sad that I can never read it for the first time again. It's definitely one I'll reread.

I did dip into the audio book a few times and Rose Robinson does an amazing job narrating the story. I loved how she did different voices for each of the characters, and how that brought them even more to life.

Someone who's never lived without money can't understand what it's like to have to check, check and triple check before you spend, and she'd been bankrolled by our parents all her life.


Home on Folly Farm by Jane Lovering blog tour banner



12 comments:

  1. Love the sound of this Cora! You always pick some of the best sounding books!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Funnily enough there was an article in one of the Sunday papers recently about the Yorkshire Shepherdess - what great timing. This sounds like a lovely read - I'm always up for some snark, I only wish I could be as quick off the mark with my retorts :) x

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds like the kind of book I need to read - pure escapism! I'd also love to visit Yorkshire so this is going on my book shopping list!

    Rosie

    ReplyDelete
  4. I need a book like this right about now. I've been reading a decent amount of books with heavier content and I could use a bit of a farm escape. I love the way this sounds and I so appreciate you sharing this review!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I never heard of the book, but it sounds like a great read! Truly need a journey in a farm and Dora sounds like a great character! Thank you for sharing this x

    ReplyDelete
  6. This sounds like a wonderful book. Thanks so much for sharing your review of it!

    ReplyDelete
  7. A book that soothes your soul? I'm in! This definitely sounds like the sort of read we all need right now and I love that you have "sheep" in your 5 words! x

    ReplyDelete
  8. This sounds like such a lovely book! Great review!

    Lois | https://loisreadsbooks.com

    ReplyDelete
  9. This seems like a lovely book! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing xx

    Lynn | www.lynnmumbingmejia.com

    ReplyDelete
  10. This seems like the book I'd enjoy so I'm going to be popping it onto my TBR pile. Great review!

    Tash - A Girl with a View

    ReplyDelete
  11. This sounds great. I love a book with complicated sibling relationships (I'm one of 4 and we definitely didn't always get along growing up).

    ReplyDelete
  12. I don't think I have ever read a book set on a farm. I am intrigued.

    ReplyDelete

Please leave a link to your own blog when you comment, I'd love to visit yours!

Thank you so much for your comment!