My posts may contain affiliate links, if you buy something through these links it doesn't cost you anything, but I may make a small commission which helps to keep this site up and running.
Furry-Paws.com: Your virtual dog could be the next champion!

25 June 2021

Book Beginnings: Reputation by Lex Croucher

For Book Beginnings, Rose City Reader invites us to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

For Friday 56, Freda's Voice asks you to turn to Page 56 in your book or 56% on your e-reader and pick a sentence.

I am currently reading Reputation by Lex Croucher.

Reputation by Lex Croucher regency romance book cover

It all began at a party, as almost everything of interest does.

I don't think I can put into words how excited I am to be reading Reputation.

I requested this book on NetGalley and could have cried when I was turned down. Luckily I was contacted by the publisict and offered a review copy after sharing the cover reveal, and I could have cried again. Reputation is one of my most anticipated romance reads this year, and I am so freaking thrilled to have a copy in my hands.

I love this first line. I feel that it shows a lot of Georgiana's personality right off the bat, and it has me excited for what is to come. What began at a party? What's so interesting about it?

The cover is gorgeous - I love the pastel covers, the messy characters, the wisteria framing the top. I like the mix of historical and contemporary designs and themes, and it makes me want a glass of red wine.

Also check out that tag line:

It is a truth universally acknowledged... That girls just wanna have fun.

I mean, if that isn't a promise of messy drama then I don't know what it. I like the mix of references, it fully plays into the Regency Mean Girls vibes that the blurb mentions.

Georgiana turned back, smiling, a response to this halfway to her lips - but he was already gone, casting a long shadow as he strode back up the path towards the party.

This is from page 56 in my proof copy.

I like this line. In just the way Georgiana describes the scene we feel the curiosity and small regrets she has. We can feel longing in her voice already. I am here for it.

I'll be swanning around in my ridiculous floaty night dress all weekend reading Reputation, living my best life. Maybe even drinking wine too.

Keep an eye out for my review next Friday!

About the Book


The hilarious debut novel from Lex Croucher. A classic romcom with a Regency-era twist, for fans of Mean Girls, Bridgerton and Jane Austen.

Abandoned by her parents, middle-class Georgiana Ellers has moved to a new town to live with her dreary aunt and uncle. At a particularly dull party, she meets the enigmatic Frances Campbell, a wealthy member of the in-crowd who lives a life Georgiana couldn't have imagined in her wildest dreams.

Lonely and vulnerable, Georgiana falls in with Frances and her unfathomably rich, deeply improper friends. Georgiana is introduced to a new world: drunken debauchery, mysterious young men with strangely arresting hands, and the upper echelons of Regency society.

But the price of entry to high society might just be higher than Georgiana is willing to pay...


Add to Goodreads button


What are you reading this week?

7 comments:

  1. I love how the cover is like Desperate Housewives meets Jane Austen, but make it pastel. Definitely eye-catching! And I support the flowing nightgown/glass of wine approach to reading books you're excited about, it's the best! I hope you love it and I'll try to be back for the review! I hope you have a lovely start to the weekend and do drop by my Friday post if you have the time! - Juli @ A Universe in Words

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love the first line of this book! It definitely intrigued me straight away! Love the cover too! x

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wow...the cover, opening line, and description of this book are very appealing. Glad you were able to snag a copy. If you have a moment, I invite you to take a look at the book I'm featuring today, which also has a Jane Austen theme: https://www.bookclublibrarian.com/2021/06/friday-focus-friday-56-and-book_0420568856.html

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm glad you are so happy, and this one does sound delightful. Thanks for sharing, and here's mine: “THE THINGS WE CANNOT SAY”

    ReplyDelete
  5. Those snippets made me smile. :-) Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I definitely want to know more!

    ReplyDelete
  7. This sounds like a good, fun read. Love that first sentence

    ReplyDelete

Please leave a link to your own blog when you comment, I'd love to visit yours!

Thank you so much for your comment!