My posts may contain affiliate links, if you buy something through these links it doesn't cost you anything, but I may make a small commission which helps to keep this site up and running.
Furry-Paws.com: Your virtual dog could be the next champion!

02 July 2021

Book Review: Reputation by Lex Croucher *AD gifted

I was provided with a free copy of Reputation by Lex Croucher  ahead of the blog tour.

As I said in my Book Beginnings post, Reputation is one of my most anticipated romance reads this year, and I was so freaking thrilled to have a copy in my hands. I am even more thrilled to say that it didn't disappoint, and it lived up to every expectation I had for it.

Reputation by Lex Croucher book cover regency romance

The hilarious debut novel from Lex Croucher. A classic romcom with a Regency-era twist, for fans of Mean Girls, Bridgerton and Jane Austen.

Abandoned by her parents, middle-class Georgiana Ellers has moved to a new town to live with her dreary aunt and uncle. At a particularly dull party, she meets the enigmatic Frances Campbell, a wealthy member of the in-crowd who lives a life Georgiana couldn't have imagined in her wildest dreams.

Lonely and vulnerable, Georgiana falls in with Frances and her unfathomably rich, deeply improper friends. Georgiana is introduced to a new world: drunken debauchery, mysterious young men with strangely arresting hands, and the upper echelons of Regency society.

But the price of entry to high society might just be higher than Georgiana is willing to pay...

It is a truth universally acknowledged... That girls just wanna have fun.

Amazon UK | Amazon US

Add to Goodreads button

Source: Blog Tour | Review Copy

5 Word Review: Reputation, society, friendship, family, love.


I can't wait to read Reputation again. Even the first line is perfect. I want more.

This is the type of book that has you positively fizzing in anticipation. I spent almost every page waiting for scandal upon scandal (and it delivered).

As the main character, we see this world through Georgiana's eyes. She's not a bad person, she just gets in with the wrong crowd and out of her depth. But it is incredible fun. She's coming of age and coming into herself and making mistakes. She's desperate for attention, just a little, and she wants to be accepted. I liked that she loved reading romance herself, and that she'd compare people to characters.

But as much as Georgiana is the main character, I loved Frances. I loved her impulsiveness and impropriety. She's a mess and she's toxic and I was here for it.

Frances felt like the beginning of something - a story Georgiana desperately wanted to follow through to the end.

The story is propelled along by society functions and the odd tête-à-tête in alcoves. For all that Georgiana's life may be boring in the beginning, once she meets Francis and is introduced to the rest of the group it is anything but.

The writing itself was wonderful, so much was cleverly packed in to the pages. I have a five favourite quotes post coming up soon, and let me tell you it was hard to pick just five. The writing is exquisite and fun and engaging. I never wanted to put this book down, I was always compelled to read just another page even if it was 2 AM and I had work the next day.

Get Vitamin String Quartet lined up on Spotify, pour yourself a glass of something nice, and nab yourself a copy of Reputation. It is outstanding and messy and so so fun. You will not be disappointed. It's like Mean Girls and Harlots and Skins and Bridgerton mushed up together in an alternate universe with trailing gowns and not enough candles.
Reputation by Lex Croucher blog tour banner


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave a link to your own blog when you comment, I'd love to visit yours!

Thank you so much for your comment!