My posts may contain affiliate links, if you buy something through these links it doesn't cost you anything, but I may make a small commission which helps to keep this site up and running.
Furry-Paws.com: Your virtual dog could be the next champion!

07 July 2021

Audiobook Review: Rome is Where the Heart is by Tilly Tennant *AD gifted

I was provided with a free audio-copy of Rome is Where The Heart Is by Tilly Tennant via NetGalley.

It has been years since I read a Tilly Tennant and I honestly don't know why. This book was a bit like a balm for the soul, a perfect summer romance to warm your heart and put a massive smile on your face.

Rome is Where The Heart Is by Tilly Tennant book cover

Can a holiday romance ever have a happy ending? Escape with Kate to the sun-drenched city of Rome where a love affair is just about to begin…

When Kate’s husband Matt dumps her on Friday 13th she decides enough is enough – it’s time for her to have some fun and so she hops on a plane to Rome. A week of grappa and gelato in pavement cafes under azure blue skies will be just what the doctor ordered.

What she doesn’t count on is meeting and falling for sexy policeman Alessandro. But the course of true love doesn’t run smoothly – Alessandro has five meddling sisters, a fearsome mama and a beautiful ex Orazia. They’re all certain that Kate is not the girl for him.

Can Kate and Alessandro’s love last the distance? Or will she return home with the one souvenir she doesn’t want – a broken heart …

Fall in love with the colourful cafes and the cobbled piazzas of Rome and follow Kate’s dreams and her heart in this enchanting escapist read. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Carol Matthews.

Amazon UK | Amazon US

Source: NetGalley | Review Copy

5 Word Review: Family, love, trust, loyalty, Rome.


Take me to Rome, please.

This was a wonderfully summery romance, perfect for cheering you up. I listened to the audiobook and thought it was excellent, and I'd happily read the book again.

Melanie Crawley does an outstanding job narrating the story. Her voice is rich and warm and emotional, and her intonation was perfect. I honestly could think of a better narrator to lend their voice to Kate, and I will definitely be checking out more of the books they have narrated. Like book two, A Wedding in Italy.

Kate's unlucky number is very much 13. Or is it? I felt like Matt leaving her was actually a great thing for her, as she could stop being stifled by him and explore her dreams, and when she brings him down a peg or two towards the end it was excellent - we love to see such character development!

This book had me seriously hungry with all of the gorgeous food mentioned. It's definitely one to read with a bowl of olives and a glass of wine. It felt a bit like an old romance film, where the heroine dashes around doing the touristy stuff and falls in love with a local. I mean, yes, it's cliché. But it's a cliché for a reason and it's so much fun. I had a massive smile on my face most of the time when I was reading this.

I like that this book also explored familial relationships, they can be messy and Rome is Where the Heart is did not shy away from that. I loved the relationships between the sisters, their fierce love for each other and their protective streaks.

This was a beautiful read for summer, when you have to placate your wanderlust, or just need something to fill your heart with love. It was perfect.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave a link to your own blog when you comment, I'd love to visit yours!

Thank you so much for your comment!