My posts may contain affiliate links, if you buy something through these links it doesn't cost you anything, but I may make a small commission which helps to keep this site up and running.
Furry-Paws.com: Your virtual dog could be the next champion!

05 August 2021

Book Beginnings: The Hand of the Sun King by JT Greathouse *AD Gifted

For Book Beginnings, Rose City Reader invites us to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

For Friday 56, Freda's Voice asks you to turn to Page 56 in your book or 56% on your e-reader and pick a sentence.

Today I'm posting a day early because I have some YALC-shaped plans for the weekend.

I am currently reading The Hand of the Sun King by JT Greathouse (AD - gifted).

The Hand of the Sun King by JT Greathouse book cover

Grandmother woke me in the dead of night and told me to keep silent.

I have been going through a bit of a fantasy kick right now, so when I was offered a review copy of The Hand of the Sun King by JT Greathouse, of course I said yes.

I have to be honest with the cover - at first I didn't like it, it was just not my style. But the more I look at it the more gorgeous details appear. I love the style and the imagery and how subtle it is, I love the intricacies.

This first line is pretty intense, and mysterious. I think it sets the scene excellently, and I love the uncertainty.

I think I'm going to really like this. Although I have no idea where it will go.

The tutor scowled down at the cat, who swished his tail in defiance...

This is from page 56 in my finished copy.

I have only just started this, and I'm only three chapters in so this is a wee bit further than I am. And I'm intrigued. I have so many questions and I can't wait for them to be answered as I read.

This line from page 56 is a change of pace from the first line. The pace of the story itself has slowed considerably, but I still have this feeling of uncertainty. Wen is learning as lot about his world (as am I) and it's fascinating.

The writing is very atmospheric, and addictive. I do not want to put this down.

About the Book


My name is Wen Alder. My name is Foolish Cur.

All my life, I have been torn between two legacies: that of my father, whose roots trace back to the right hand of the Emperor. That of my mother's family, who reject the oppressive Empire and embrace the resistance.

I can choose between them - between protecting my family, or protecting my people - or I can search out a better path . . . a magical path, filled with secrets, unbound by Empire or resistance, which could shake my world to its very foundation.

But my search for freedom will entangle me in a war between the gods themselves . . .

The first book in the Pact and Pattern series. Fans of Robin Hobb, Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn and R.F. Kuang's The Poppy War will love the magic running through every page.


Add to Goodreads button


What are you reading this week?

The Hand of the Sun King by JT Greathouse blog tour banner

6 comments:

  1. Sounds like a cool read!! I haven't got the post up yet, but when I do I'll add your link. Happy weekend!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds like a great read, I'm definitely going to keep an eye out for it! I completely agree, the intricacies of the cover are great, you do keep discovering more details. I hope you enjoy it and have a lovely weekend :)
    Juli @ A Universe in Words

    ReplyDelete
  3. Love the sound of this one! Thanks for sharing, and here's mine: “THE GUILT TRIP”

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sounds intriguing. Happy reading. Here is my link: https://cindysbookcorner.blogspot.com/2021/08/first-line-friday-12-this-time-around.html

    ReplyDelete
  5. That is such a powerful first sentence! I hope you enjoy this! sounds like an awesome book. I love the cover! xx

    Lynn | https://www.lynnmumbingmejia.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love both quotes, the first one is really good. Takes you directly into the book.
    I like the cover as well and can imagine that, at least, it has something to do with the story. This is not always the case.

    ReplyDelete

Please leave a link to your own blog when you comment, I'd love to visit yours!

Thank you so much for your comment!