My posts may contain affiliate links, if you buy something through these links it doesn't cost you anything, but I may make a small commission which helps to keep this site up and running.
Furry-Paws.com: Your virtual dog could be the next champion!

09 June 2022

Audiobook Review: Come Here Often? by Ellie Center *AD Gifted

Bookouture Audio sent me a free audio-copy of Come Here Often? by Ellie Center via NetGalley.

I have to admit to totally picking this one based on the cover. It just looked fun, and I have to be honest if I got on an exercise bike I too would probably end up lying legs akimbo behind it.

Come Here Often? by Ellie Center audiobook cover

My name is Kat and I have a confession. For the last week, I’ve been secretly living in the gym.

Let me set the scene for you… It was my first day working out. Ever. My idea of cardio is lifting Dunkin’ Donuts, but as if exercising wasn’t bad enough, listen to what happened next. In the space of minutes, my boyfriend dumped me over the phone and my boss fired me.

Cue a Code Red panic attack. Now, no matter how hard I try, my anxiety stops me from physically walking out of the door, back into the hot mess of my life.

So now I’m stuck in this health club, spending night after night sleeping on massage tables, escaping security guards and hiding from my ex. Flirting with personal trainer Marcus, who’s carved like a Greek god and has a smile that makes my stomach flip-flop, is the silver lining to this craziness.

But what happens if I get caught? Can I finally sort my life out? And how personal is too personal when it comes to personal trainers?

This fresh and funny page-turner is for anyone who has ever lost their spark, struggled with anxiety, or prefers pie and lattes to pilates. Perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary, Emily Henry and Jo Watson.

Add to Goodreads button



Source: NetGalley | Review Copy 

5 Word Review: Anxiety, lies, belonging, exercise, resilience.


I had so much fun reading this book - it's the perfect comedy to brighten your day, or even your week.

I picked up the audiobook on a Saturday morning as a companion for my chores and accidentally listened to it all instead of saving some for my commute. The performance by Kate Handford was excellent, she really brought Kat to life.

Kat very quickly burrowed under my skin. I felt for her so much, and the portrayal of her anxiety  At the beginning I was like oh no, Kat but by the end I was cheering for her. The ups and downs of the story and Kat's position had me on the edge of my seat. Kat is so driven, and so good, and so scared. And I feel that.

This book had me examining my relationship with my body, exercise and alcohol. Kat is prone to using alcohol as a crutch for her anxiety and err... Guilty as charged.

This book was so freaking motivating. I'm recovering from Covid and this gave me that push to jump back in to movement. Unlike Kat, I'm not signing myself up to a swanky gym, I just don't have the money. But I did start a new Fitness Blender program, and that's exactly what I needed.

The ending tugged at my heart strings so much, and my heart soared for Kat and all that she had accomplished. Come Here Often? is the perfect pick-me-up when you're feeling down.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave a link to your own blog when you comment, I'd love to visit yours!

Thank you so much for your comment!